You Have The Right To Protect Your Driving Privileges
If you are arrested for DUI in Florida, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended. For a first-offense DUI, you could be facing a minimum suspension of six months. Many people do not realize that the license suspension can be challenged at a DMV administrative hearing. These hearings are completely separate from the criminal charge for DUI and only address the status of your right to drive.
You only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to request a DMV hearing. If you miss the 10-day deadline, the suspension will automatically take effect. Upon your arrest, you will receive a 10-day driving permit. If you request a DMV hearing, it will be scheduled within 30 days of your request. In most cases, you will receive a 30-day temporary driving permit while your hearing is pending.
Skillful Representation For DMV Administrative Hearings
At the law firm of The Holman Law Firm, our Pensacola license suspension attorneys have extensive experience representing clients throughout the Northwest Florida Panhandle, including Escambia County, Santa Rosa County, Okaloosa County and Bay County. Our drunk driving defense lawyers pursue every available option to preserve your driving privileges.
Getting a suspension for a DUI arrest overturned is extremely difficult. It is worth having the hearing, however, for the opportunity to question the arresting officer. Attorneys are not allowed to depose police officers prior to a DUI trial, but they are allowed to question them at the DMV hearing. This is often the only chance we have to talk to the arresting officer about your case.
If your suspension is upheld at the DMV hearing, we may be able to seek a hardship license that allows you to drive from home to work or school.
Free Consultation About Driver’s License Suspension
All Credit Cards Accepted • Free Initial Consultation • Plenty of Free Parking